Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi all, I've added Knoppix to my system and want to add it to the Mandrake LiLo, the partition is mounted but I've tried (through the IRC) to add it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448

    Adding another distro into LiLo


    Hi all,

    I've added Knoppix to my system and want to add it to the Mandrake LiLo, the partition is mounted but I've tried (through the IRC) to add it using various root console commands, no success. Can anyone help?

    Martin,

    Dublin, Ireland
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Hi,
    As root, go to the /etc/lilo.conf file and manually add it. Or if you want to do it by the GUI, goto the Mandrake COntrol Centre and select the option along the lines of boot setup or boot configuration.

  3. #3
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Hi AlexK,

    I tried manuallty added it, it wouldn't let me write to the file. The Mandrake Centre is looking for the root or Kernal image and I can't sort that out.

    Martin,

    Dublin, Ireland
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    I should also have said that I can see the vmlinuz file for Knoppix, I just can't get drakboot to point to where the file is located, what I need is a walk-through entering the correct paramters, can you help me?

    Martin,

    Dublin, Ireland
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

  6. #5
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Ok,
    the easiest way to accomplish this is to edit the lilo.conf file directly.
    as root do the following:
    open the /etc/lilo.conf file in Kate or any text editor.
    insert the following lines in the lilo.conf file

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="knoppix"
    root=/dev/hdaX (replace X with the harddisk partition where knoppix resides)
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    read-only

  7. #6
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Hi AlexK,

    That seems to have worked, thanks. Knoppix is now booting but I get error messages during the boot up "/lib/modules/2.6.8.1-mdk no such file or directory" , they're Mandrake files aren't they? Why is Knoppix trying to load them? Also, when knoppix boots up, there's no sound, no internet (I'm on broadband so the ethernet card should be automatically configured) some of drives/partitons aren't mounted and I can't configure the network settings, keep getting error messages in German.

    This must be something to do with how LiLo is loading Knoppix but I may post all these issues in the Knoppix foum to see if anyone can help me re-configure the distro. Stange thing is when I tested Knoppix using it's own bootloader, Grub, everything worked fine.

    But thanks again for the help, much appreciated.

    Martin,

    Dublin, Ireland
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

  8. #7
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    I think I know where the problem is. the initrd entery may be wrong for knoppix. You'll have to find the location of the knoppix boot image. and replcce the intrd entry with something like:

    initrd = knoppix boot image location.
    and
    image = knoppix vmlinuz location

  9. #8
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Alex,

    Can you go into the IRC and we can try this live?
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

  10. #9
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    If not, how to I determine the location of the boot image? I can view the contents of the partition through Konqueror in Mandrake
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

  11. #10
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Also, is there any data I can post here from the root Konsole that would help?
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •