Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everybody, I am a Linux newbie but I am very interested in learning more. Recently I installed Mandrake 9.1 for PPC and the whole installation went without problems. But ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to boot into Mandrake Linux 9.1 PPC graphical mode ???

Hi everybody,

I am a Linux newbie but I am very interested in learning more. Recently I installed Mandrake 9.1 for PPC and the whole installation went without problems. But when the moment of the first reboot (after the installation) came and when I expected the graphical interface (XFree86 4.3.0) to load nothing happened. The system just stayed in the bash/shell and that was it. I can log in and out in the shell but I don't know how to load the graphical inteface. I tried to reconfigure the settings with the command XFdrake and changed the VGA card and monitor type and the like but nothing helped. Then I tried to run the XFree86 command to test it and I received error. I can't exactly recall what error I received but it was something with the "screen". It sad that there are enough screens but none of them has the right/appropriate configuration. And something with the crash of XFree server.

I also noticed that my system chooses the VGA driver for the ATI Mach64 VT card but I have VT2 card integrated. But there is no VT2 driver on the list to choose from. Can that be a problem ?

Can someone please help me with this one ?

Thank you very much in advance.

Edin

Try the command
    Code:
    startx
    If that works you should edit the line
    id:3:initdefault:
    in your /etc/inittab with
    id:5:initdefault:

I hope this helps;

dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Just Joined!
    OK, I'll try that. The computer is on my workplace so it will have to wait till monday.

Thank you very much.

Edin

Just Joined!