Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I can run Grip as root, but its a hassle then all the files are read only unless you're root There must be a way to run grip as a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    28

    How do you run grip as a normal user for encoding mp3


    I can run Grip as root, but its a hassle
    then all the files are read only unless you're root

    There must be a way to run grip as a normal user

    Any help would be appreciated

    Andy

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    129
    in console type sudo grip.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    What errors do you get trying to run grip?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    28
    thanks for the sudo grip info it works fine now

    I don't really get any errors using grip but did have a few issues to start with.

    What took me a while to sort out werer the options with the % signs but I seem to have got the hang of that. I also learnt the use of ~ in front of file locations which pleased me.
    Grip is now my encoder of choice. I was using conqueror which was very easy to use and would be my encoder of choice but for the fact that it keeps stalling.

    Is there anyway to change the settings of grip so any normal user can use it?

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    Quote Originally Posted by mcewena1
    Is there anyway to change the settings of grip so any normal user can use it?
    Yes, but first I need to know why a normal user can't use it.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    28
    If i try to start it as a normal user it doesn't even appear. So i don't know why?

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    Start it from xterm or whatever to see if it gives any errors

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    28
    It says

    Error: Unable to initialize [/mnt/cdrom0]

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    Hmm I can't think why it would be reading from /mnt/cdrom0, cds shouldn't be mounted for grip to do what it does. Some things you can try though is make sure the device in /dev for your cdrom is readable and maybe writable by your user, check /etc/fstab and see that the 'users' option appears in the line for your cd drive, and also check the permissions on /mnt/cdrom0. It's most likely the permissions on the device I would think.

  11. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    From your error message, it is most likely that your CD is not connected to /dev/cdrom0.

    As valan said, you should check your /etc/fstab file.
    Or just from a simple "mount" command would even be better.

    Code:
    #cat /dev/fstab
    /dev/cdrecorder      /media/cdrecorder    subfs      fs=cdfss,ro,procuid,nosuid,nodev,exec,iocharset=utf8 0 0
    /dev/cdrom           /media/cdrom         subfs      fs=cdfss,ro,procuid,nosuid,nodev,exec,iocharset=utf8 0 0
    
    #mount
    /dev/hdc on /media/cdrecorder type subfs (ro,nosuid,nodev,fs=cdfss,procuid,iocharset=utf8)
    /dev/sr0 on /media/cdrom type subfs (ro,nosuid,nodev,fs=cdfss,procuid,iocharset=utf8)
    Above is a cut out from my /etc/fstab and as you see my CD is connected to /media/cdrecorder (which I use for "grip")

    And from "mount" command, i'll see that my device is called /dev/hdc
    which I use in grip configuration

    Hope this helps you out.
    Btw, I had exactly the same error untill I figured out where my CD where connected/mounted

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •