Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hey folks, I'm new to the message board and the Linux community... I installed MandrakeLinux this morning onto my computer and im already loving it! installation and startup is extremely ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake DVD prob

Hey folks,

I'm new to the message board and the Linux community...
    I installed MandrakeLinux this morning onto my computer and im already loving it! installation and startup is extremely user freindly... it seems that I only have one problem and that is the media player will not recognize my DVDs. any ideas as to what it could be, it plays my VCDs and mpeg videos, but I do notice that the dubbing for the audio is a bit off, could this be from some sort of filter???

other than these video and audio problems I am enjoying Linux... i love the simplicity of it and theres no junk!... Thanks,

Brad...

Just Joined!

dvds

Not sure about your audio But I think I can help with your dvd problem.

To play dvds I downloaded libdvdcss-1.2.8-2.network.i386.rpm from http://cambuca.ldhs.cetuc.puc-rio.br/xine/ then from the terminal command line I typed rpm -ivh libdvdcss-1.2.8-2.network.i386.rpm. This installs the libdvdcss, then I started the kaffeine player and was able to watch dvd movies.

Also for dvd's in linux check out ogle it has a link to all the files you need on the download page.

dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    yeah ok... first of all guys I thank you and I have Olgle on disk but i have no idea how to install it... someone please help me with this...

thanks,

Brad

Linux Enthusiast
    Since you are fairly new to Linux and Mandrake, you should probably try to install a ready made RPM binary package.

Did a quick Google and found this