Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello gang, Hate to be a noob here (but I am, you were one once too), anyways, did an install on a home server (a gateway machine) and during the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

After 10.1 install, no mouse support

Hello gang,

Hate to be a noob here (but I am, you were one once too), anyways, did an install on a home server (a gateway machine) and during the install I can use the mouse, everything works fine until it reboots after install and then the usb ports for the mouse do not work. No usb mouse that I own will work (I have tried logitech, microsoft, serial, ps/2... nada. I checked the bios, everything seems to be in order (otherwise you would assume that the mouse would not work during install).

I am wondering if it is the version that I am using, if I maybe have a bad copy? Any thoughts?

My problem lies in the fact that I am new to linux, so navigation and file updates (drivers etc...) is greek.

Have you tried enabling/disabling acpi or setting noapic (a likely culprit if this is a problem with an interrupt problem) in your bootloader configuration? The file would be /etc/lilo.conf by default in Mandrake.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

You could also try running mousedrake from a terminal.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    As I am a complete noob, I know how to get into the terminal, but as far as lilo etc goes, is there a straight forward was of enabling/disabling acpi or setting noapic? (would I do that during setup?)