Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am considering updating lo Mandrake 10.1 largely because I have a friend who is stuck with windows as he hasn't had his broadband connection working for 6 months and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Updating to 10.1

I am considering updating lo Mandrake 10.1

largely because I have a friend who is stuck with windows as he hasn't had his broadband connection working for 6 months and nonone can help him (and that's Windows)

I want to install Mandrake 10.1 for him. I am expecting problems with his modem (speedtouch) but I have found some info on that. The question is:

I fi update my computer(not my friends) to 10.1 will I also have to reconfigure my modem etc or will it take the settings from Mandrake10.0

I'm new to broadband, but think that there's no real problem upgrading to 10.1 with recognition of hardware. I'm told that modems aren't much of an issue under Linux as long as your network card is supported/recognised.

Partly depends on how you connect though. I wouldn't use a usb modem: not well supported and a lot of CPU overhead. Cable is the best way to go. I've been reading up on this recently, so my knowledge is yet to be tested!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Just Joined!
    No there is no real problem with modems, but last time I installed Linux, I did it while I still had an internet connection and I had to use the internet quite a lot to sort it out.

what I was wondering is:m Will the upgrade process to 10.1 recognise my modem settings the way they are or will I have to repeat the process all over again.