Find the answer to your Linux question:
hey i just got linux mandrake 10.1 from a friend and while installing i didnt know i needed to make a root password and user or whatever to install stuff ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

how to create root after installation

hey i just got linux mandrake 10.1 from a friend and while installing i didnt know i needed to make a root password and user or whatever to install stuff so i left it blank so can anyone tell me how to create it thanks later

Just Joined!
    Login as root with the blank password and use passwd.

~Pax

Just Joined!
    the thing is idk know how to login into root im a newbie to linux

Just Joined!
    Try this:

Open up a console/terminal type window.

Type:

su

Then when it asks for the password, just press enter. Then type:

passwd

And it will prompt you for a new root password. Enter it, and problem is solved.

~Pax

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by paxnoctis
    Try this:

Open up a console/terminal type window.....
    You can't open a terminal window until you get into X windows for which you would have to login....

So to do something like paxnoctis suggests, when you get the X windows login screen, press ctrl-alt-F3 (or F1 or F2...) to get a "text mode" console screen. Login as root, enter nothing for a password to get logged in. Then you should be able to enter 'passwd' and create a valid password. To create a user account, check the manual pages for both 'adduser' and for 'useradd'. There is a subtle difference between the two, but I'm afraid I don't know what it is.... To get the manual page, at the command line, enter 'man adduser' or 'man useradd'.

Once the user account is created, press ctrl-F7 (no 'alt', and only 'F7') to get back to the graphic login and log in under the name of the newly created user.