Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Just finished installing Mandrake 10.1and I am not able to connect to the internet. I use an ethernet card and had no problems connecting while using Knoppix Live Run CD. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    AC7
    AC7 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Champaign, IL
    Posts
    6

    HELP! Prob with Ethernet Card


    Just finished installing Mandrake 10.1and I am not able to connect to the internet.

    I use an ethernet card and had no problems connecting while using Knoppix Live Run CD.

    Bringing up Interface eth0 fails at start up. Yet it is detected while I am in the OS, but is unable to connect. What can I do?

    Thanks

    -Just another fed up Windows user

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    129
    What's the output to:
    Code:
    lspci
    ?

  3. #3
    AC7
    AC7 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Champaign, IL
    Posts
    6
    Among the info for USB and other stuff the last 2 entries are:

    02: 02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor., Ltd. RTL- 8139/ RTL- 8139C/ RTL- 8139C+ (rev 10)

    02: 09.0 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k HSF: Modem (rev 01)

    Thanks again

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    could you run lsmod and post that output as well?
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    AFAIK Realtek RTL- 8139(x) is supported as is.
    What exactly do you get as an error when you try to bring up the eth0?
    When you try bring it up, are you trying "ifconfig eth0 up" as root?
    Could you also post the last lines (corresponding to eth0 errors) from "dmesg" command as well.

  7. #6
    AC7
    AC7 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Champaign, IL
    Posts
    6
    When I run command lsmod:

    bash: lsmod: command not found

    When I run dmesg:

    8139 too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.27
    eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xd0996000, 00:40:2b:4b:25:e2, IRQ 17
    eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8100B/8139D'

    I'm new to Linux so don't know much about loading hardware. It recognizes the Ethernet Card in the Control Center and running the configure tool does nothing. I am still unable to connect, it shows that I am disconnected on the toolbar.

    Thanks

  8. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    as root:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhclient eth0

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    When it fails at startup does it fail immediately or does it have to time out? Oh, and network hotplugging will screw up things sometimes, so disable it if it's enabled.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by AC7
    When I run dmesg:

    8139 too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.27
    eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xd0996000, 00:40:2b:4b:25:e2, IRQ 17
    eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8100B/8139D'
    From this printout it do look like you have your Ethernet adapter up'n'running. So lets see if we can find the cause why you can't reach the net.

    Have you checked the printout from "/sbin/ifconfig eth0"

  11. #10
    AC7
    AC7 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Champaign, IL
    Posts
    6
    Print outs for:

    ifconfig eth0 up
    bash: ifconfig: command not found

    dhclient eth0
    bash: dhclient: command not found

    /sbin/ifconfig eth0

    eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:2B:4B:25:E2
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric: 1
    RX packets: 0 errors: 0 dropped: 0 overruns: 0 frame: 0
    TX packets: 0 errors: 0 dropped: 0 overruns: 0 carrier: 0
    collisions: 0 txqueuelen: 1000
    RX bytes: 0 (0.0 b) TX bytes: 0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupted: 17 Base address: 0x6000

    I also tryed configuring again under Control Center and disabling network hot plugging, and again nothing.

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •