Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I have just recently tried to dual boot with windows and mandrake 10.1... first I installed Windows on my 160gb HD, then popped the mandrake dvd in and began setup, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Niagara Falls Canada
    Posts
    31

    dual boot with windows???


    I have just recently tried to dual boot with windows and mandrake 10.1... first I installed Windows on my 160gb HD, then popped the mandrake dvd in and began setup, I partinioned the HD (about 70gb for windows and 70gb for linux) i belive i got linux installed on the second partition???, then i reboot and all i see is a bunch of :

    L9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999 99999

    I know i did something wrong... any ideas???
    thanks... Brad

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    31
    I suspect your mistake was installing windows first and then partitioning. What tool did you use to partition? Windows tends to put a lot of immobile files at the end of it's partition, to prevent this sort of dynamic partitioning. Even with a tool like Partition Magic, it's not a guarantee (trust me, I know this from unfortunate, first-hand experience).

    Your best bet is to partition the drive, THEN install windows, and then install Linux.

    ~Pax

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Niagara Falls Canada
    Posts
    31
    Well before installing linux there was an option to partition so i did it through there

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    31
    That's your problem =).

    You can't partition the drive after an OS has already been installed (windows, in this case). Partition the drive, install windows into 1 partition, and Linux onto the other(s). That'll solve your problem.

    ~Pax

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Niagara Falls Canada
    Posts
    31
    okay after i do that will i be able to choose which os i want to go into???

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    31
    Correct. A program called LILO will install when you put in linux (after windows) and it will allow you to choose Windows or Linux.

    ~Pax

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1

    Lilo problems

    I've come across a similar problem when I installed a previous version of mandrake (7.2) on my old pc. In this case Windows was on a completely separate harddrive to what I was using for Linux. What I found was that the install would go well, but on restarting the computer it would just hang and give a message similar to what you got. Basically the only way I got around this was to create a boot floppy when mandrake install asks you to. I found that if the computer didnt boot correctly, I could use the boot floppy to get it started instead. Not a great fix, but maybe someone with more knowledge could at least look at Lilo when they got into Linux??

    Oh and btw, just as a warning!...with this older version I also found that the windows boot sector had been overwritten to such an extent that I windows was rendered useless, and took a long time to fix!.. This thankfully didnt happen on my laptop when I installed Mandrake 9.? next to Windows XP Pro in a dual boot....

    Anyway...hope this makes sense, and helps a bit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •