Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I'm having problems getting TwinView to properly run on my system. I have a GFX 5200 and the monitor connected to the VGA works fine. The second monitor which is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15

    Help with nVidia TwinView


    I'm having problems getting TwinView to properly run on my system. I have a GFX 5200 and the monitor connected to the VGA works fine. The second monitor which is connected to the DVI by using a DVI-VGA converter is the one having problems. It will work fine when I'm loading and shutting down (it displays the same thing as the first monitor) but as soon as I get into KDE the second monitor goes into standy, leaving me with only the first monitor. Here is my XF86Config file...

    Code:
    # File generated by XFdrake.
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of
    # this file.
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "Files"
        # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
        # By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
        # the X server to render fonts.
        FontPath "unix/:-1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        #DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> &#40;server abort&#41;
        AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse doesn't work
        #DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> &#40;resolution switching&#41;
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
        Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
        Load "extmod"
        Load "type1"
        Load "freetype"
        Load "glx" # 3D layer
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Keyboard1"
        Driver "Keyboard"
        Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option "XkbLayout" "en_US"
        Option "XkbOptions" ""
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Mouse1"
        Driver "mouse"
        Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
        Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "monitor1"
        VendorName "Sony"
        ModelName "Sony Multiscan 15sf"
        HorizSync 31.0-64.0
        VertRefresh 50.0-120.0
        
        # Sony Vaio C1&#40;X,XS,VE,VN&#41;?
        # 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
        ModeLine "1024x480"    65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344   480  488  494  563 -hsync -vsync
        
        # Dell D800 and few Inspiron &#40;16/10&#41; 1280x800
        ModeLine "1280x800"  147.89  1280 1376 1512 1744  800 801 804 848
        
        # Dell D800 and few Inspiron &#40;16/10&#41; 1680x1050
        ModeLine "1680x1050"  214.51  1680 1800 1984 2288  1050 1051 1054 1103
        
        # Dell D800 and few Inspiron &#40;16/10&#41; 1920x1200
        ModeLine "1920x1200" 230 1920 1936 2096 2528 1200 1201 1204 1250 +HSync +VSync
        
        # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
        # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
        ModeLine "768x576"     50.00  768  832  846 1000   576  590  595  630
        
        # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
        ModeLine "768x576"     63.07  768  800  960 1024   576  578  590  616
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier "nvidia1"
        VendorName "nVidia"
        BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX &#40;generic&#41;"
        Driver "nvidia"
        Option "DPMS"
        Option "TwinView" "True"             # &#91;<bool>&#93;
        Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"    # <str>
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, DFP"
        Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-64 kHz"   # <str>
        Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50-120 Hz"   # <str>
        # Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768; 800x600,800x600"            # <str>
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "screen1"
        Device "nvidia1"
        Monitor "monitor1"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 8
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 15
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 16
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 24
            Virtual 1024 768
        EndSubsection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "layout1"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        Screen "screen1"
    EndSection
    Basically it seems like the problem lies with the line Option "MetaModes" which I've commented out. When I uncomment it KDE won't even load. I get some error like "Screen(s) detected but do not match"... I can't remember exactly what it said. I've also tried playing around with Option "ConnectedMonitor" changing it from "CRT, CRT" to "CRT, DFP" but again... No luck there.

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15
    Here is the actual error I get...

    Failure to contrstruct a valid mode list: no modes remaining
    Screen(s) detected, but none with usable configuration

    Also forgot to mention that both monitors are CRT if that is of any importance.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15
    Anybody? Even pointing me in the right direction to where I can find out what to do would be a great help. I've tried checking out nVidia's website about TwinView but I can't figure out what it is I'm doing wrong.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1

    solution:

    On my computer I had the same problem until I try that:
    - uncomment:
    Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768; 800x600,800x600" # <str>

    - In your screen section; change or add a "virtual value":
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    # 1024+1024=2048 (because of Metamodes and Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf")
    Virtual 2048 768
    EndSubsection

    It Appear that you must have in your screen section a virtual resolution which can display the both screens.

    I hope it will help you
    p.s.: I am french.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •