Find the answer to your Linux question:
----------- Yes - I Am A Newbie _______ I will try and not make this too long, however I make no promises. I've been reading thru the posts and see ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to Linux

----------- Yes - I Am A Newbie _______
    I will try and not make this too long, however I make no promises.
    I've been reading thru the posts and see that there are alot of people out there with ways of correcting issues. Here is my issue:
    I am completely new to Linux and Unix based / command type systems. I am quite proficient with Windows as this has been all I have ever used. I dont wish to give up Windows as this user friendly based system does quite well for me. I have though considered experimenting in the realm of wonder to see if it is anyway possible to set up a Linux system, which runs Windows XP Pro. I want Linux for A) security and B) to use as a homebased server to my Kids computers here at home. I want to be able to have them log on and setup from there system with out having to setup Windows XP on there system as I dont with to have to buy several more licenses.
    My first question: Is this possible.
    I would be using Mandrake 10.0
    Windows XP Pro Ver 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600.
    My system is Self Built with NvIidia 5200 FX
    MSI Motherboard, bios up to date.
    I am hardwired to a Linksys Router Running Cable.

Kids Computers
    Running 10 gigs hard drive
    1 gig of mem
    Matrox Video Card
    Linksys Wireless Card G
    Pentium II based system.