Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have Toshiba A75-S206 laptop with a built in wireless card (Atheros AR5004G Wireless Network Adapter). I installed Mandrake 10.1 yesterday. I have been searching various forums to see how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Atheros AR5004G Wireless not recognized in Mandrake 10.1

I have Toshiba A75-S206 laptop with a built in wireless card (Atheros AR5004G Wireless Network Adapter). I installed Mandrake 10.1 yesterday. I have been searching various forums to see how to make Mandrake recognise this card. Its not there in the lists given by NDISWrapper or MadWIFI.

I am very very new to linux. Can you please help me? I dont want to go back to XP.

Without wireless, it will be difficult to use the laptop at home.

Just Joined!
    Can someone please help?

Or should I switch back?

if you can find the XP drivers. Download them. Extract them. Find the files that end with .inf and .sys then follow the directions on the ndiswrapper page. Their is a card listed which seems very similar to yours so it probably is the same chipset and your then will probably work.

If you can find these files then I can help if you need more advice.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

Just Joined!
    I have the setup program for this card on WinXP. However, when I do install this, I do not see any ".inf" or ".bin" files.

Am I missing something?

I couldn't find proper windows drivers for your card either. but i read some stuff about a project called madwifi releasing linux drivers for your card. i don't have the time to research this but if you google it you may find some answers of post another thread with madwifi in the title. Sorry....good luck!