Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am a total newbie to the linux os and i need help with the installation of programs. I have tried numerous times to install the tar.gz files and i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

total newbie HELP!!!!!!!!!!

I am a total newbie to the linux os and i need help with the installation of programs.
    I have tried numerous times to install the tar.gz files and i cannot figure out what is going on ... i have made it as far as the make command and after that i cannot go any further because i keep getting error messages. Please help me out here.
    The program i really want to install is xmms because i need a media player that can play aac files but in the shell when i try to install it i am told i need to install glib and gettext. When i try to install these i keep getting error messages in the shell at the make or make install command. Can someone please help me install these programs ?

I believe I'm right in saying that Mandrake supports rpm files. This being so, what I would do is get the files needed as .rpm files (these can be gotten from http://rpmfind.net amongst other places). I'd then use thr rpm command (rpm -i filename.rpm) to install the programs. This way most of the troublesome work has been done for you. If there are files needed that are missing (called dependencies) then you go back to rpmfind, put the dependenciy name in as a search argument and download the required file.

Mind you, if I also had broadband then I'd use yum. yum does all of what I just said, but deals with dependencies automatically.

So, to summarise. Side step your compile problems by using rpm (stands for Redhat Package Manager , as Redhat invented it).

have fun

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Just Joined!

Thanks