Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all! Im really new to Linux and decided to give it a go. I just have a few questions and would aprechiate any help! Im using Mandrake 10.0 On: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie Questions...

Hi all!
    Im really new to Linux and decided to give it a go.
    I just have a few questions and would aprechiate any help!

Im using Mandrake 10.0
    On:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+
    512mb RAM
    120gig WD
    JustLink CD Burner
    Powercolour ATI Radeon 9600XT
    MSI K7N2 Mobo

1st of all..I have a winmodem So im working on gettin that working..
    i ran ScanModem and heres what I got:
    Code:
    UPDATE=2005_March_20

PCIBUS=01:09.0

Providing detail for device at PCI_bus 01:09.0
      with vendor-ID:device-ID
                ----:----
    Class 0780: 11c1:044c   Communication controller: Lucent Microelectronics LT WinModem (rev 02)
      SubSystem 11c1:044c   Lucent Microelectronics LT WinModem
            Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 10
            Memory at e6000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
            I/O ports at 9000 [size=8]

-----PCI_IDs-------                    --CompilerVer-
        Feature List:  Primary  Subsystem Distr  KernelVer   kernel default  CPU
     ./scanModem test 11c1:044c 11c1:044c mandrake 2.6.3-7mdk 3.3.2 3.3.2    i686

The modem has a supported Lucent/Agere DSP (digital signal processing) chipset
      with primary PCI_ID:  11c1:044c
     DSP=1
    Can you guys help me out?

Im also having problems installing my ATI drivers. Im pretty sure i got the right Xfree versions..more about that later..when I can take screens...

Whats a good chatting program for Linux? I will be using MSN.

Thanks,
    Andrew

Just Joined!

your modem and chat program

have you downloaded the most recent drivers???