Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, Im a noob in linux. Just a while ago, i went to distromania and downloaded the 3 RAR files (one for each cd.) What am i supposed to do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake 10.2 RP1 RAR File

Hey,

Im a noob in linux. Just a while ago, i went to distromania and downloaded the 3 RAR files (one for each cd.) What am i supposed to do with them? burn the whole RAR file? I have uncompressed the RAR file and a lot of documents and files appear... where is the iso i should burn? I am completely lost...

I hope one of you guys will help me fast. I cant wait to (finally) get linux.

Thanx

JP

Just Joined!
    LET ME RESTATE THE QUESTION in case you misunderstood

im sure all of you guys using linux can solve this and help me

well, this morning i decided to convert to linux from WIN XP. i went to distromania and downloaded the three cd's for Mandrake Linux 10.2 RP1. When they finished downloading, i noticed they were all in .RAR files. So i uncompressed them... There were lots of filess...

1. Did i do the right thing?
    2. Should i just burn the whole .RAR file?
    3. Where is the ISO?
    4. What should i burn?
    5. Im completely clueless.... Can you help me?

Just Joined!
    Hi *Linux"

Yes, you've done the right thing. What you need to do is extract the RAR archive using the appropriate software called WinRAR (If you're working in Windows XP already) that way you'll be able to access the files inside the RAR. What you need to do then is get the ISO files from within that and burn those in Nero as images.

Hope this helps, post again if you have any more problems and I'll help you out

Good luck

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

i still dont understand...

when i unzip the rar files, i get loads of files... I cant find the iso's to burn... can u help me... again?