Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi, im new to linux (but im pretty happy to have it) and i installed Mandrake 10 on my PC. The hard disk is partioned to have Windows XP in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    8

    Cant boot windows xp


    Hi, im new to linux (but im pretty happy to have it) and i installed Mandrake 10 on my PC. The hard disk is partioned to have Windows XP in the first 4 partitions, FreeBSD in the next partition and Mandrake in the next three ones. When i installed Mandrake i installed LILO in the partition 8 (the root partition for Mandrake) because i have GAG and i prefered not to touch the mbr. Everything went fine (apparently) but when the computer restarted an error popped up: Error loading operating system. So i boot linux from GAG and went fine but when i tried to boot windows from LILO it stucks on a black screen with the cursor blinking. if i tried to boot it from GAG it stucks on a white screen. I already tried to fix it using the WinXP CD recovery console typing fixmbr, fixboot /scan, etc but i still cant boot to windows.

    what can i do?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nuremberg/Germany
    Posts
    22
    Hi.

    You did well not to touch the mbr! (for my opinion).

    - probably you will have to download a DOS-bootdisk to recover your MBR
    and start fdisk /mbr in a DOS-shell. (get free-DOS from www.freedos.org)
    - try to reboot Windows
    does it work??

    Then:
    - Boot your linux once again.
    - Install the lilo into the boot record of your root-filesystem partition (number 8 as you say =/dev/hda8 ?).
    - Copy the bootsector of your root-filesystem partition into a file
    - copy that file into a FAT partition or onto a DOS-formatted floppy disk.

    - boot Windows
    - copy the bootsector-file onto the Windows Filesystem (into C
    - tell it to the bootloader by editing c:\boot.ini

    follow this description for example:
    http://jaeger.morpheus.net/linux/ntldr.php

    I hope that helps a little.

    regards,
    Walgrom.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    8
    Thank you so much WalGrom.

    I tried to with fdisk /mbr but nothig new happened, except that, as my windows is in spanish, the message "error loading operating system" was now in spanish. Oh God! i'm giving up, every time i install linux i spend three days re-installing Windows. I want to fix this because i love linux and freebsd and all these excellent OS but i still cannot tell others of it because this error could be critical for other users. I have a lot of ubuntu cd's waiting to be delivered among my friends but still i cant. i'm thinking to make an image of my windows harddrive and then delete the windows partition and to install it again.

    the tutorial gave me the idea of fixing LILO but it still didnt work. but thanks for your help.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nuremberg/Germany
    Posts
    22
    Sorry... I have to admit, that I told you some crap...
    because I did not know about GAG.
    (The Method I posted last time was how to tell the Windows boot loader
    how to boot Linux. It's not valid for your problem.)

    Now we've got to concentrate on your Windows (Even if we're in a Linux forum
    Tell me more about your hd partitioning. Please post the output of typing 'mount' in a linux root console once.

    - Did you change hd-partitioning during Linux installation?
    - Did you insert a partition before your Windows system?
    - Did you plug any new IDE, SCSI, SATA devices? (even CD-Rom or IDE-Floppy)
    - Did you change Master/Slave Jumpering?
    I suspect: GAG cannot find your windows because the windows drive numbering changed...

    (By the way, take a look at http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
    Might be useful.)

    Sorry that I cannot give you more advice in respect to Windows for the moment.


    GAG is still running? And you boot Linux from within GAG without any trouble? FreeBSD also works fine?
    GAG is in the MBR. Did you try a GAG-reconfiguration or even harder: a reinstall?


    But we should also take a look on your LILO in order to avoid problems for the future. Why did it damage your Windows bootup?

    Be sure that Lilo is installed in /dev/hda8 (Is it /dev/hda8 ? Post me the output of 'mount' once....)
    (In your /etc/lilo.conf, the entries named boot=/dev/hda## and root=/dev/hda## have to point to the same partition. Type 'mount' once and look for the filesystem simply named / Which partition /dev/hda## is it? Type this entry into your /etc/lilo.conf and run /sbin/lilo once again. So first you can be sure, that lilo isn't touching any other system.)

    regards,
    Walgrom


    -----------------------------------------


    In respect of telling your friends about Ubuntu:
    If they only want to install it aditionally to Windows. Tell them not to touch the MBR. If you handle boot-setup with care, you cannot damage your Windows. Follow the description I posted you the last time. In case of doubt, let them always build a boot floppy by the Ubuntu installer.
    Rebooting Linux without a loader is easier than rebooting Windows...
    Remember what I said about installing LILO into the root filesystem partition. The concept is to tell the windows boot loader about booting linux. I think it's the safest way for beginners not to damage their windows.
    Experts might say that there's no problem letting the automatic installer change your boot-setup - my experience is different.... take your time: it's worth it.

    Tell them to create a FAT filesystem for data exchange between Linux and Windows... Don't know if there's a WiKi for Newbies...

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    8
    This is my “mount” result:

    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    none on /dev type devfs (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,mode=0620)
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part10 on /home type ext3 (rw)
    none on /mnt/floppy type supermount (rw,sync,dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850)
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 on /mnt/win_c type ntfs (ro,umask=0,nls=iso8859-15)
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part5 on /mnt/win_d type ntfs (ro,umask=0,nls=iso8859-15)
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part6 on /mnt/win_e type vfat (rw,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850)
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part7 on /mnt/win_f type ntfs (ro,umask=0,nls=iso8859-15)
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part9 on /usr type ext3 (rw)


    [Primary partition 2 is for the extended partiotions 5, 6 & 7. Primary partition 3 is for BSD. I divided linux in four partitions: /, /home, /usr and swap]
    [I own a 40GB seagate HD, a LG CD-ROM and no CD-RW]
    i just remember there was a power failure on my house the first time i was installing mandrake, precisely when partitioning.
    Windows was the first OS i installed on my PC so there are not partitions before installing windows.
    I havent added new hardware nor switching jumpers, as i have just one hd.

    Dont worry, you're giving me as much help as you can about windows.

    GAG is still running as i installed on a floppy no in the MBR. I still can boot both linux and freebsd from GAG. (There's something weird though. GAG is programmed so that you, in case of installing it on a floppy, choose which OS to boot and it'll not necessary to insert the floppy the next boot. It keeps “in memory” the last option you chose. So when i choose to boot from BSD, the next boot will boot from BSD directly, as it was my option on GAG. But when i choose linux a message will pop-up the next boot: “error loading the operating system”, so i must need to insert the floppy every time i need to boot linux. I dont know if you understand, English is not my native language an maybe i didnt write correctly).

    This is my LILO config:

    boot=/dev/hda8
    map=/boot/map
    default="MandrakeLinux"
    keytable=/boot/es-latin1.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Linux"
    root=/dev/hda8
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount resume=/dev/hda11 splash=silent acpi=ht"
    vga=788
    read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Linux-nonfb"
    root=/dev/hda8
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount resume=/dev/hda11 acpi=ht"
    read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz-smp
    label="MandrakeLinux"
    root=/dev/hda8
    initrd=/boot/initrd-smp.img
    append="devfs=mount resume=/dev/hda11 splash=silent acpi=ht"
    vga=791
    read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Failsafe"
    root=/dev/hda8
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="failsafe resume=/dev/hda11 devfs=nomount acpi=ht"
    read-only
    other=/dev/hda1
    label="WindowsXP"
    table=/dev/hda1
    other=/dev/fd0
    label="FloppyDisk"
    unsafe
    other=/dev/hda3
    label="FreeBSD_5.2"

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nuremberg/Germany
    Posts
    22
    Hi ulrichblue.

    Well - english isn't my native language neither....
    Tampoco no hablo mucho español...pero no te preocupes:
    no hablas peor el inglés como yo...?Dónde te encuentras en México lindo?
    Estaba en Puebla en '96. (news@jedi-hq.org)

    I think this time I found something that might be really helpful for you!
    Seems that WinXP fdisk/mbr is faulty!
    But unfortunately seems, that Mandrake partitioning in version 10 is
    faulty as well....

    I'd NOT recommend to try all those things
    they describe in this Mandrake bug report:
    http://qa.mandrakesoft.com/show_bug.cgi?id=7302

    But I think that they describe exactly the problem you're facing now.

    I'd recommend:

    1st:
    prepare a boot floppy for booting linux directly or
    keep a Live-CD Linux like Knoppix or something else in order
    to preserve the possibility to access your Linux partitions.

    2nd: backup the MBR and the hda1-boot record (using a linux shell):
    dd if=/dev/hda of=/home/SOY_YO/hda.mbr bs=512 count=1
    dd if=/dev/hda1 of=/home/SOY_YO/hda1.mbr bs=512 count=1
    EDIT: BETTER YOU SAVE THE MBR-BACKUPS ON A FLOPPY DISK!

    Now you can play a little with all recovery tools and will always be able
    to restore old boot records. You might want to do that with other boot
    records...

    3rd:
    try fdisk from the freedos-project
    {[(or even harder:
    erase MBR by typing (under linux)
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=512 count=1
    and then boot WinXP recovery disk, try fdisk /mbr once again....)]}

    Remember: You can recover old BRs any time you want...
    using your the Live-CD Linux.
    (Under Knoppix you can mount your home-partition
    under /mnt/hda10...)

    Last option to try is playing with BIOS-settings (auto/LBA)
    and trying to repair the partitioning as described in the bug report
    posted above.

    Regards,
    WalGrom

    EDIT:
    In order to restore the boot records:
    boot knoppix
    mount /mnt/hda10
    type
    dd of=/dev/hda if=/mnt/hda10/SOY_YO/hda.mbr bs=512 count=1
    dd of=/dev/hda1 if=/mnt/hda10/SOY_YO/hda1.mbr bs=512 count=1

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    To use the XP MBR repair, you must boot from the XP installation CD, select repair, and once at the prompt, type: FIXMBR.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    8
    thank you Walgrom. how was your visit to mexico? im from the state of guanajuato, four hours far from puebla. what you were doing on the 96?

    thank you for your help but....


    oh my gosh i forgot to backup the mbr!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    my data is there but i cant see it!

    this is not my day....

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nuremberg/Germany
    Posts
    22
    I'm very sorry for having ruined your hard disk...

    But don't hesitate.

    What did you do in the meantime?
    Did you erase the MBR?
    But you should be able to restore it now,
    following the description of retired1af.
    Does Windows XP automatic system recovery find the
    windows partition now?

    Try fdisk /mbr from www.bootdisk.com
    if (due to the bug in XP) fdisk from XP-Install.-CD does not work.

    Can you access your WinXP drive C: ?
    take a look if you find the (maybe hidden) files
    - C:\Ntldr
    - C:\boot.ini
    - C:\ntdetect.com
    (- C:\bootsect.dos)
    If you find boot.ini -> store a backup on a floppy.
    Maybe one of the files is missing.
    Ntldr and ntbootsect.com you may simlpy copy from your WinXP
    Installation-CD onto your hard disk working on the recovery console
    booting from the CD.
    boot.ini you will probably have to build up from scratch.

    Don't give up.
    It has to work. You won't have to reinstall Windows...

    Regards,
    WalGrom

    --
    P.S.:
    I was in this wonderful town of Guanajuato in May '96 but
    unfortunately never made it to the festival Cervantino
    in October because I had to work (for a supplier of Volkswagen) in Puebla...

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nuremberg/Germany
    Posts
    22
    I hope I have some happy news for you:

    1. Here's some very useful information about MBR, PBR and Partition tables:
    http://www.ntfs.com/partition-recovery-concepts.htm

    2. And additionally I found a downloadable tool that can manage NTFS:
    http://www.partition-recovery.com/download.htm

    Unfortunately, the demo-version cannot repair the MBR...
    But Parted might help you with its "rescue" command.
    (There's a rescue-project too:
    http://www.tux.org/pub/people/kent-r...looplinux/rip/

    (But first try FIXBOOT once again...then compare the booting
    error messages mentioned in Site No. 1 and so on... Keep on reporting.)

    Regards,
    WalGrom

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •