Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I installed Mandrake 10.1. The installation went ok. Reboot was ok. However, the Konqueror browser won't open at all. The task bar button appears for a few seconds then disappears. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3

    Konqueror web browswer won't work after install


    I installed Mandrake 10.1. The installation went ok. Reboot was ok. However, the Konqueror browser won't open at all. The task bar button appears for a few seconds then disappears. I even tried installing Mandrake a second time. I have the 3-CD download version. I'm fairly new to Linux. Any ideas? Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Do any of the other browsers work?
    What apps do work?
    Did you do an MD5Sum of the ISO?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3
    The konqueror browwer is the only one listed in the "start" menu. Other applications work fine. I'm going to dowload another browser from work, and install it to see if it is a konqueror-specific problem.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3
    I stand corrected. When I click on the HOME icon, that window won't come up either. I can't view any files at all. Seems to be related to that.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I am not sure, but I think Konqueror is also the file manager.
    So, downloading another browser is not going to help much.
    I would try burning a new ISO of Mandrake or some other distro and installing that.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    This seems to be a recurring problem with Mandrake. If you have any usb based storage devices plugged in and mounted e.g. usb drive, mp3 player etc. Konqueror refuses to load. Sofar, i have not found a workaround for this problem.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Thanks for the info Alexk. I had no idea Mandrake 10.1 didn't cooperate with USB storage devices.
    Is it just storage devices or does that apply to keyboards and mice too?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #8
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    it is just storage devices so far. My keyboard and mouse are both usb and they work without any problem. When my thumb drive is mounted, konqueror doesn't start. However, i have started using Nautilus as the file manager and Mozilla as the web browser.

    The same thing happens to my friend's laptop. And he only had his mp3 player plugged in.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    23
    Yeah I have the same experience; when I connect a USB digital camera in to Mandrake 10.1 Konqueror doesn't start up...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •