Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hello folks, These are my first steps in the linux universe, so i'm really a newbie here, even though I was an experienced windows user... So please, no long words ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

After Mandrake+Lilo install, only windows boots o_O

Hello folks,

These are my first steps in the linux universe, so i'm really a newbie here, even though I was an experienced windows user... So please, no long words
    I checked the threads of this forum, but found no thread related to the problem I have, so, here I come :o

Let's get to the facts : my problem is that I installed a Mandrake Discovery 10.1 following the wizard's automatic config, that Lilo was installed, and yet at the reboot only windows loads.
    No Lilo, no linux.

Now, more details :

If that can help, here is the detailed structure of my hard disks after mandrake disco was installed. Click the URL for a picture
    - preparing the installation : On my primary master harddisk, a 30 GB HD, composed of a single partition (C: .), I resized C: to 15 GB, so that there would be a 15GB space free for Linux.
    - then the installation process began with a reboot with mandrake CD1 in the CD-rom drive.
    - at the partition&disk step, the wizard offered me three choices, and i chose to let it automatically use the free space. It didn't ask me anything more, and as planned (I checked it later with partition magic in windowsXP) it used the free space after c: on the primary master to install its three linux partitions.
    - the installation continued, all was fine, and in the end, it said it would reboot the system, and after that, lilo would load and I'd enter the marvelous linux world where geeks are smiling down on you... erm, excuse me, my imagination went unleashed.