Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi! I came up with some problems after I updated my system (KDE, Gnome and more), now KDE, Gnome or any window manager wont boot. I can explain where the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    8

    Help please! Can't boot a session in GUI.


    Hi!
    I came up with some problems after I updated my system (KDE, Gnome and more), now KDE, Gnome or any window manager wont boot. I can explain where the problem is if that's simpler;
    First of all when the login screen shows up I choose a user and then put in it's password, I've tried with root too. Then I choose a window manager and click on login, but the window manager won't boot. The only thing that happens is that the X server restarts (turns black for a few moments) and then comes back to the login window again.
    Please any help would be good.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    When u say the login window, is that the graphical login or the command line login?

    If it's the command line login, i get this error when i've updated something and need to reinstall my nvidia drivers to sort it out.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    8
    It's in the Graphical login I get the error, but just a thought, if I start the fail-safe mode I actually can type startx and will then login to KDE.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    is it an nvidia card u got as a graphics card? That does sound to me like it's a case of havin to reinstall the drivers. Cos if u go to failsafe mode it (more than likely) wont use the nvidia module, but the default module instead.

    If u use an nvidia card, try loggin into the console as root, and reinstalling the nvidia card drivers.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    8
    Well... I don't have a NVidia card, I have a S3 Trio 3D. But maybe it's something wrong with the login manager, since I couldn't restart or halt by pressing those buttons (nothing happened).
    Please help me with this, I really need to get it running again.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Since you can login and startx, try switching login managers. You do that in MCC.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Agreed. The Mandrake login manager doesn't give you anything that kdm doesn't anyway.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    8
    I can't seem to find where you change the login manager, is it in the Computer configuration or Desktop configuration?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    It's in System -> Display Manager. If you want to use KDM instead of Mandrake's login manager or XDM though, you'll probably have to install it with something like
    Code:
    urpmi kdebase-kdm
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    8
    Thank you very much! I got it running now.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •