Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello ppl, I'm a Linux newb, running Mandrake 9.0, finally could xcape Mr. BG's claws. I can't get Linux to recognize my Kingston's Usb Key. I explore the HD using ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

USB Key

Hello ppl, I'm a Linux newb, running Mandrake 9.0, finally could xcape Mr. BG's claws.
    I can't get Linux to recognize my Kingston's Usb Key. I explore the HD using Konqueror and when getting to the removable device and clicking on it nothing happens. Weird thing is that after I installed the OS, I plugged my key and could see the files!
    Oh...another thing. I didn't know that there HAD to be a root user. When I installed Mandrake, I was asked to choose a username, and a password, but I wrote my usr name and left the pwd space blank. Now, there are many times that I wanna change something within the sys and can't do it becouse I have to loggin as root......and I don't have any root pwd. Is there any way to activate it?
    Thanks to all!
    Mariano.

Re: USB Key

Welcome mariano00
    Quote Originally Posted by mariano00
    when getting to the removable device and clicking on it nothing happens
    This is probably because your USB key is not mounted. But before we tell you more about it, it is critical that you remember your root password
    You don't need to "activate" you root user. It's there. During the installation, it asked you for a user, but also for your root password. You really don't remember what you typed? Maybe you just hit enter leaving it blank? When you open the MCC (Mandrake Control Center) it will ask you for your root password, try pressing enter see if it lets you in.

If you really don't remember your root password you will have to do a recovery procedure. Let us know if you could remember it. Then we'll guide you to get your USB key back. Otherwise we'll see about the recovery procedure.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your help!