Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I've changed my permissions but if I want to unmount one of my cdroms it gives an error saying the device is busy. It also can't software eject. Can someone ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    32

    Moutning problems


    I've changed my permissions but if I want to unmount one of my cdroms it gives an error saying the device is busy. It also can't software eject. Can someone please help me?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Do you have the cdrom open in any other windows? Is your terminal in the cdrom directory? If you absolutely need it unmounted, try:
    Code:
    umount -fl /dev/hdc
    or whatever the device is.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    If ur gettin this error, u have something open that is in the cd directory somewhere.

    Make sure u dont have any file browsers open in the /mnt/cdrom directory or any shells there either.

    If u still cant unmount it, try:
    Code:
    fuser /mnt/cdrom
    that will tell u what process is using the drive, then kill it with:
    Code:
    kill <PID>
    <PID> is the PID shown be fuser

    then try unmount again.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Or if the process is zombie or you can't even kill it with kill -9, try the -l switch to umount like I said. (Although that's highly unlikely as the signal sent by kill -9 cannot be handled by the program. it just kills it no matter what)

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    India, At present in NTT, Japan as Partner Employee
    Posts
    15
    yeah!!

    In worst case if the CD does not come out at all, you have to kill the relevant processes involved with CD operations, first try to identify the processed using cd - rom, with command ps with option -afe, then fill them one by one which are involved with cd-rom operation.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    32
    Thanks to everyone who replied. I am sure I can use what you said.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •