Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello hello, I'm still a newbie, though I learn a lot, and i have a "funny" problem : I don't find how to log as root ! For instance, i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Unable to log as root, mandrake 10.1

Hello hello,

I'm still a newbie, though I learn a lot, and i have a "funny" problem : I don't find how to log as root !

For instance, i want to copy some xmms skins into a directory only writable by the root user.

I know I can get temporary console root rights with the su command.

But for what i'd want to do, i'd prefer to be able to log as a root user.
    If that helps, i'm with KDE.

Here is what I have tried :
    - i tried juste in case the login command in the command field, which gave me this error message : No utmp entry. You must exec "login" from the lowest level "sh"
    - I tried checking the options for the root user in the user management panel, But I found no option whatsoever related to the bootime
    - When i close my session, only one user (me, the only user i adding during installation time) is proposed, not the root. I tried keyboard keys to maybe add a way to select the root user, but I found no way.
    - I opened the control panels that required root rights, thinking that meanwhile I might have root rights for everything, alas it was not the case.
    - edit : i had forgotten one thing too, i read on some webpage that a trick was to change/restart the connexion manager (from inside system > connexion manager, switch from MdkKdm to KDM or XDM), and indeed, during that, I have a short time during which I'm asked a login-password, and if I type it at lightspeed it seems i'm logged. But then, anyway, five seconds later a new session begins, and this session is logged as me, as Sabin (in the terminal : sabin@dhcp........), instead as the root.

Would you know in what way I can log myself as root ?