Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
have mandrake 10. installed, and it works fine. downloaded jre from java.com, and have it on the desktop but can't get it into mozilla web browser. i use kde(konkorer)but kde ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    9

    installing jre into mandrake


    have mandrake 10. installed, and it works fine. downloaded jre from
    java.com, and have it on the desktop but can't get it into mozilla
    web browser. i use kde(konkorer)but kde says to get plugins into
    mozilla and kde will scan those. i am pretty new, so if you respond.
    please be as basic and specific as possible. thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Have you installed jre or jsdk? If not then install it. The installation noramally needs root prevelidges (check this out??? I am rather new!!!) . Now check whether you have an rpm form or you have the source code. An rpm file is a self installing file type of a thing and you just need to double-click it and provide the root password (analogous but not congurent to administrator of windows). You are through. If its a source code then read the readme.
    Normally the following set of commands (of course as super user in the dir conating the code) is
    Code:
    sh configure
    make
    make install
    Then open your mozilla browser and go to
    edit>> preferences >> and see advanced tab and all the details that concern you appaer there.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Create a sym link from your java plugins directory to the libjavaplugin_oji.so file

    For example, issue this command, of course with your corrected path, in the directory /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

    Code:
    ln -s /usr/java/j2re1.4.2_<version>/plugin/i386/ns610-gcc32/libjavaplugin_oji.so
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    9

    installing jre

    Well, I guess I need to be a bit clearer. The operative words here are
    "basic" and "specific". What I have is Mandrake 10. and on the desktop
    is "jre-1_5_0_02-linux-i586-rpm-bin" (without the quotes). I need to get
    this file into my Mozilla browser, so I can view some maps from NOAA that
    use java runtime enviroment. Double clicking this icon that is on the
    desktop only opens a blank window. Opening the file in Kwrite opens a
    window with all the code in it, but I can't get that where it needs to be,
    cause I do not know how. Since I don't have java installed, I don't have a
    java plugins directory, that I can find. ??

  5. #5
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790

    Re: installing jre

    Quote Originally Posted by xbillx
    Well, I guess I need to be a bit clearer. The operative words here are
    "basic" and "specific". What I have is Mandrake 10. and on the desktop
    is "jre-1_5_0_02-linux-i586-rpm-bin" (without the quotes).
    in order to install this, you will need to run:
    Code:
    sh jre-1_5_0_02-linux-i586-rpm-bin
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    9
    Here is what it took to get jre working after getting it installed.

    cd /usr/lib/mozilla-1.7.2/plugins<enter>
    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_02/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so<enter>

    then, in konqueror: settings, configure konqueror, java and java script,
    in the java executable block at the bottom of the window

    /usr/java/jre1.5.0_02/

    There it was, all working and everything. Thanks for all the help from both
    of you, as you were right on track and just needed more exact info from me.
    Tux loses this one.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3

    Installing JRE into Firefox 2.0

    This was the only line that could get Java running in Firefox 2.0 for me:

    Code:
    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so ./libjavaplugin_oji.so
    If the plugin wasn't installed when the link was made, it just wouldn't work.

    The instructions I followed are at http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/faqs/firefox-linux.html under "How do I Install Java?"

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so ./libjavaplugin_oji.so

    I use this line, it creates the link, but doesn't work. I then go into the plugins directory and it says it's broken. Mysteriously, it disappears after clicking on it in the gui directory. Strange. I cannot understand why it won't create a solid link.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    oh jeez, it's got to be a permissions problem..it has root group permissions..i'll have to chmod it to my user permissions.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    Giving it user permissions still doesnt work.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •