Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm a newbie running MDK10.1 Discovery. As some of you may be aware I've got issue with getting my sagem modem working under linux - hence no ne t access. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Getting gcc & source

I'm a newbie running MDK10.1 Discovery.

As some of you may be aware I've got issue with getting my sagem modem working under linux - hence no ne t access. I see that I can download stuff from sagem but I need to do some compiling...

Sagem say compiler GCC must be installed, and the source of the linux core must also be installed.

Discovery doesnt have GCC.

Q - where can I get this from, and can I download it via windows (assume yes but everthing I've seen to date all comes via the mandrake update software)?

Q - How do I know if I've got source on my machine?

Thanks

You can go to this site: http://easyurpmi.zarb.org/

It will walk you through how to add internet sources to urpmi. The
    Code:
    main
    source for 10.1 will give you access to all the packages normally included in the "full" Mandrake. I also recommend adding the plf and contrib sources, as they give you access to all sorts of extra programs.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Just Joined!
    Thanks for that.

So being a newbie just want to confirm 2 things.

It looks like this will only work if I have internet access via linux. Something I dont have currently but 'could' if I was able to compile the sagem package.

1 - Is there a way to get these packages downloaded via windows?

2 - If I was connected to the net, are these packages the same as would be downloaded via the mandrake update mechanism???