Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello hello, Before I start explaining in details, I'll state the main question : Is it possible to install a powerpack 10.0 and upgrade its kernel and KDE with a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

10.1 discovery <-> 10.0 powerpack transfers ?

Hello hello,

Before I start explaining in details, I'll state the main question :
    Is it possible to install a powerpack 10.0 and upgrade its kernel and KDE with a Discovery 10.1 ?
    Or is it possible to install a Discovery 10.1 and use the installation CDs of a Powerpack 10.0 to add in a few clicks all the development tools ?

Now, the details are coming :

The need for development tools

I have purchased a Mandrake Discovery 10.1 (because i'm a REAL newbie with Linux, I'll confess without shame), and i've been learning quite a few things until now.

Now that I start compiling programs for which the RPMs are not supplied or don't work even though they are mdk-configurated (showimg _), I discovered that it was a bloody hell to chose and install the development, coding, compiling libraries.

Even though I found a few websites being helpful about it, telling the newb what stuff he's supposed to have installed before he even thinks of doing a ./configure, make, make install, getting to the details is a living hell.

I even cause bugs installing that stuff myself, it seems <_<

Another example, I installed plenty of rpms, preparing myself for a compilation of a software called ShowImg and then later (I thought of preparing far away stuff) adding Xorg for an installation of nvidia acceleration drivers.
    After the process, I noticed the fonts of the mandrake control center and no other fonts (alt-f2, mcc) were one or two sizes smaller, and blazes! 45 minutes including a google search later I still hadn't found out how to make them back to their native size. Even using IceWM instead of KDE, the MCC had the same font size problem.