Find the answer to your Linux question:
HELP!!! I'm a Linux noob and I'm having a very annoying problem. I just got a flash drive that is said to work great with Linux (and it does). The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

HELP! (Somewhat) Urgent Problem!

HELP!!! I'm a Linux noob and I'm having a very annoying problem. I just got a flash drive that is said to work great with Linux (and it does). The problem is that as soon as I plug it in,Konqueror will not open. Konqueror will work if it is already open and I plug it in, but refused t do so afterwards. Both Konqueror and Nautilus read the flash drive fine, but I have no idea why it refuses to open after it gets plugged it. It is a Simpletech Bonzai Xpress 128mb. Does anyone have ANY IDEA why this keeps happening?

I will be more than happy to provide any information necessary to fix this problem... It's rather important that I get this thing working ASAP.

Thank you very much!!!

Linux Enthusiast
    well, I had a similar problem with my net connection, everything worked fine if the net was down, ut once I started it some things wouldn't work, including nautilus... Actually, they did work, it just took about 20 mins to open them. I don't know if your problem is the same, but you could try doing the following from a terminal after plugging it in:
    Code:
    portmap
    and make sure that you're mounting it correctly:
    Code:
    mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/flash-drive # whatever the mountpoint is
    post any errors you get...

I may be wrong, but there is a known bug in Mandrake 10.1 Official caused by a run-away process. If you have trouble again, try hitting Ctrl. + Esc to bring up a list of processes - assuming you are using a GUI. If you find one called using a lot of resources, highlight it and kill it. Your system will complain, but survive.