Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
PLEASE HELP. I am a complete newby to Linux. Computer is P11, running windows 98, 160mb ram, 4gb HDD(2.89 free space), ATAPI CdROM. I am trying to install Mandrake 10.1 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Mandrake 10.1

PLEASE HELP.

I am a complete newby to Linux.

Computer is P11, running windows 98, 160mb ram, 4gb HDD(2.89 free space), ATAPI CdROM.

I am trying to install Mandrake 10.1 on my old computer to eventually use as a firewall but also to play around with Linux.

I got a DVD off a magazine, copied the Mandrake files to CD's. Instructions says CD1 will boot up. IT DOESN"T. Yes, I did try disk No2 too.

I have followed instructions about "Make a boot floppy":

# insert the CDROM, then open the icon "My Computer", right click on the CDROM drive icon and select "Open"
    # go into the "dosutils" directory and double-click on the "rawwritewin" icon
    # insert a blank floppy in the floppy drive
    # select "D:\images\cdrom.img" in the "Image File" field (assuming that your CDROM drive is "D:", otherwise replace "D:" as needed)
    # select "A:" in the "Floppy Drive" field then click on "Write"

My problem is when I right click on the CDROM drive icon I cannot see "Open". All I see is the same as if I left click ie I see the contents of the CD.

Please be aware this is new to me.

I appreciate any help

Thanks

Reg

Just Joined!
    If I understand right, all you have to do is "explore" the CD and head to the dosutils directory -> then double click the rawritewin.exe and follow the instructions from there.

If you can see the contents on the CD - cool - that's exactly what you're supposed to see

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by dtodd
    If I understand right, all you have to do is "explore" the CD and head to the dosutils directory -> then double click the rawritewin.exe and follow the instructions from there.