Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, im fairly new with linux and have just installed mandrake 10.1 on my machine. The machine is also running XP SP2. All of my mandrake partitions are on a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Please Help! Mandrake wont boot!

Hi, im fairly new with linux and have just installed mandrake 10.1 on my machine. The machine is also running XP SP2.

All of my mandrake partitions are on a separate hard disk to windows, except for /home.

The installation of mandrake seemed to go fine, until i found that it lilo wouldnt work (it came up with a load of 7's and #'s or something like that).

I attempted another install and tried choosing grub bootloader instead.

Of course knowing my luck I guessed it wouldnt work...and it didnt. Grub also came up with an error.

Ive thought about making a boot disk, but mandrake doesn't prompt you asking if you wish to create one. I also tried putting the cdrom.img onto a floppy, which doesnt help as thats for starting the installation.

Now i'm lost for ideas. I just want my bootloader to work

Any ideas??! I'm gonna rip my hair out soon! lol.

by the way.. its mandrake 10.1

cheers.

Jay.