Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, i've been fooling around with MNF for about 2 years now. Its a wonderful solution! Though i got one thing i would like to know. Is there any way ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake MNF

Hi,
    i've been fooling around with MNF for about 2 years now. Its a wonderful solution! Though i got one thing i would like to know. Is there any way i can create a virtual interface so that i can access it from the web-interface. For instance a eth1:1. How is that done. I could use it for dynamic static-nat.
    So far i've done it by some scripts that changes some files. But its much harder to handle from the web-interface. And of some reason it stopped woring all of a sudden. Worked fine for almost a year. But after that it just wount work anymore!
    Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Hi,
    Personally I haven't used MNF as most of the reviews that I have read said that it wasn't as secure as other OSS offerings.

Is there any way i can create a virtual interface so that i can access it from the web-interface
    By this, you mean that you wish to log in to your MNF box remotely, from your LAN?

I suggest that you try smoothwall express 2.0 . It gives the same functionality as MNF, except that it allows for remote logging, vpn and is more sure than MNF. see www.smoothwall.org

Hope this helps.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by AlexK
    Hi,
    Personally I haven't used MNF as most of the reviews that I have read said that it wasn't as secure as other OSS offerings.

Is there any way i can create a virtual interface so that i can access it from the web-interface
    By this, you mean that you wish to log in to your MNF box remotely, from your LAN?

I suggest that you try smoothwall express 2.0 . It gives the same functionality as MNF, except that it allows for remote logging, vpn and is more sure than MNF. see www.smoothwall.org

Hope this helps.