Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I'm trying to connect to my Linux box from my XP laptop on a home network. When I start the vnc server by going through "Start" -> "Internet" -> "Remote ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    74

    mdk 10.1 - Don't seem to have TightVNC server installed


    I'm trying to connect to my Linux box from my XP laptop on a home network. When I start the vnc server by going through "Start" -> "Internet" -> "Remote Access" -> "VIrtual Network Connection" the server starts up and I'm able to use my RealVNC viewer on XP to connect. BUT, I would like to try TightVNC because I wasn't particularly impressed with the font detail of whatever VNC server I'm able to make work.

    The problem is, I don't seem to have TightVNC server installed. I can run vncviewer, but vncserver doesn't seem to be installed. I try to urpmi for "vnc", or "tightvnc" or "vncserver" and I'm told that everything is installed already. I uninstalled tightvnc, then RE-urpmi-ed for it and same thing happend.

    What am I missing to have the vncserver available to me.

    Thanks in advance!

    Stu

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    No vncserver? That's weird, especially if everything is already installed. What are the programs if you type vnc <tab>?

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    74

    vnc<tab>

    When I type vnc<tab> all I see is:

    [root@192]#vncviewer

    I used the graphical uninstall tool to remove tight vnc, then tried to reinstall it using urpmi, it re-installed but everything behaves exactly the same.

    Thanks

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    74
    Anyone have any tips on this?

    Thanks

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    62
    if u urpmi tightvnc only, it will only install the viewer, so try #urpmi tightvnc-server instead to install the server

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Brockville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    74

    Beautiful

    That did the trick. Thanks a lot!!

    Can anyone tell me why some part of my Linux thinks that it's IP address is actually the IP address of the router?

    I have a Linux box that I'm trying to run the server on, but when I run it it seems to think it is 192.168.62.1 (which is the gateway), instead of 192.168.62.51

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •