Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I just installed mandrake 10.1 and during the installation It said that My sound card wasn't configured. I went to configure manually (or something like that) and it asked me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5

    No sound in Mandrake 10.1


    I just installed mandrake 10.1 and during the installation It said that My sound card wasn't configured. I went to configure manually (or something like that) and it asked me if it was an ISA sound card. I said no because it isn't, and it told me to try to configure it later. Well now it's later and I have no Idea on what to do. It's onboard sound. Any help would be appreciated greatly.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    Could you post hardware details? Motherboard , chipset....just the type of soundcard if you like.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    205
    Run alsa-conf in a terminal.
    Ma homeboy is Jesus himself.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    I ran the command but it said the command wasn't found. My motherboard is an Asus P5GD1-VM with Intel 915g and ICH6 chipsets. Sound chipset is Realtek ALC861.

  5. #5
    Just Joined! pupdaleon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hamilton ON Canada
    Posts
    85

    no sound

    Hi

    this is probly just a fluke but i had the same prob and i fixed it by installing some of the other graphical desktops donno why this worked but im listening to sublime right now ^_^

    The linux pup

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    I installed all of them... It probably wasn't that you installed more desktops, but instead just that you re-installed Mandrake (which I have tried... 5 times).

  7. #7
    Just Joined! pupdaleon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hamilton ON Canada
    Posts
    85

    No sound

    Well..

    well this might sound dumb but are you sure the sound issent muted (it's muted by defult)

    the linux pup

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    lol yea it's not muted. I know it's a problem with the driver.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    Well I got it to run alsaconf but it still doesn't detect my sound card. Should I try OSS instead of ALSA?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •