Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I'm very new to Mandriva, having just installed Mandrake 10.0 Official. I'm using GNOME and would like to know how to assign my user account admin privilages. Is there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Giving a User Account Administrative Privilages

Hi

I'm very new to Mandriva, having just installed Mandrake 10.0 Official.

I'm using GNOME and would like to know how to assign my user account admin privilages.

Is there a simple way of doing this like you can on a NT server.

Linux Engineer
    Bad idea. Yes you can assign your user to "root", but is not recommended.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

I am sure there is a way to do it. But, why would you want to do that?

If your normal user needs root privileges, just open a console and type "su" and enter your root password.
    Or just attempt to do something that requires root access, and hopefully it should brung up a box asking youfor your root password.

Giving a normal user root priviliges is just a bad idea.
    IMO, being required to take that extra step makes you really think about what you are going to change.

This is also one of the things that makes Linux so much better than that other OS. Linux users don't have the convenience of wrecking their system without putting in a password.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

Just Joined!