Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I have installed mandrake linux 10.1 and it was easy to install. Then mandrake notify, that it don't support my modem type. Is there any possibility to install it? Maybe ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3

    Mandrake 10.1 and modem


    I have installed mandrake linux 10.1 and it was easy to install.
    Then mandrake notify, that it don't support my modem type. Is there any possibility to install it? Maybe some driver will help me?

    Tnx!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    I assume (as you haven't told us) that you have an internal PCI modem, also know as WINMODEMS.

    Places to look are :-1
    1) The general tutorial section of this forum
    2) http://www.linmodems.org

    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3
    I'm so n00b, so can you tell me point by point how i install my modem?

    Thanks a lot!

    Quote Originally Posted by Nerderello
    I assume (as you haven't told us) that you have an internal PCI modem, also know as WINMODEMS.
    Yes, it is PCI modem

  4. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Like Nerderello said, goto www.linmodems.org to get the drivers and goto this page for the tutorial http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...rial-3100.html

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    okay,
    so you will want to get a hold of the correct driver (site already given).

    This driver will depend upon which chipset your modem has. Either look on the card itself or try the command lspci. This command (you'll probably need to be logged on as root) will show, hopefully, a Communications Controller (your modem) with a chipset name (such as Lucent).

    Take this info with you to the linmodems website and follow the appropriate links.

    Try and get an rpm file when you download the driver (that is a file that ends in rpm). Then use the instructions in the tutorial to install the driver.

    Once you have a driver installed, and you know the /dev/ name that it is using (keep your eyes peeled when installing), launch the kppp dialer application and use the config windows to put in such things as your user name (on your ISP) password, phone number (of your ISP) and the /dev/ device that the modem is presented on.

    Then use the kppp dialer to dial (unlike windows, Linux does not dial on demand) up.

    Have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3
    Well, i've tried that. Console give me some warnings :S I have logged in root. What it would be?

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    Rainasto,
    what bit is giving you problems? The driver install or the kppp stuff?

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •