Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, The Linux magazine I get has just announced that the next edition will have Mandriva Limited Edition 2005 (Mandrake 10.2 Comminity) as it 'free' DVD Rom. Has anyone ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Mandriva Limitied Edition 2005 available....any comments?

Hi all,

The Linux magazine I get has just announced that the next edition will have Mandriva Limited Edition 2005 (Mandrake 10.2 Comminity) as it 'free' DVD Rom. Has anyone instaled this yet and if yes, can I get some feedback? I have 10.1 Official and might upgrade if it's good but I don't want a system that needs 'bug-fixing' as I'm still a newbie and wouldn't be any good at that.

I was at an I.T exibition in Dublin earlier and Mandriva were there, I spoke to a rep and he assurured me the new release would be pretty stable. I'm just looking for a bit of feedback before I decide wheter or not to go ahead and upgrade.

Thanks,

Martin,
    Dublin, Ireland
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

Registered Linux user 396633

Newsforge did a review of it. I warn you though, take their recommendations with a grain of salt. The person who wrote it was obviously pro-Mandriva and anti-"every other commercial distribution of Linux". I personally found the review to read more like a promotional write-up than an actual review. Might give you more of an idea what you're looking at though.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    I've made an upgrade from Mandrake 10.1 to Mandriva 2005 LE. That causes a lot of problems here, like my usb-storage device doesn't mount automatical.
    But i've read a lot about it (on dutch forums), and a lot of people were positive.
    I am positive too, but only when you do a fresh install, upgrades does not work correctly here.

Roeland

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!