Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to linux, and i've searched the forum and google, but cant find anythng. Basically, i had problems installing Mandrake 10.1 on my laptop, and after 3 hours I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Password

I'm new to linux, and i've searched the forum and google, but cant find anythng. Basically, i had problems installing Mandrake 10.1 on my laptop, and after 3 hours I eventually managed to install it, but the problem i have now is that i cant log in because it asks me for a password. Now, i didnt enter a password i dont think on this install, the last install i did, i entered a password, which i have tried, and it wont accept it. Is there anyway i can resolve this, or is there some kind of default password that mandrake uses?

Thanks alot

Linux Guru
    You might try it with no password at all (enter) or whatever password you think it is. Passwords are case sensitive. I don't think there is a default password: that's something Windows would do (and has done).

maybe you can boot with your install CDs and go into "rescue" mode and edit your /etc/passwd file: delete the first "x" in the line that starts with "root":
    Code:
    root:x:0:0:root:/root:/bin/bash
    Then get a command prompt and enter the command 'passwd'. Or you might have to reboot and set the password then. Bottom line is, set your password to something no one will think of, and don't forget it.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Just Joined!
    ok, i got into rescue mode and i'm at the console. at the moment i have

Code:
    [root@rescue /]

i typed in

Code:
    /etc/passwd
    and it comes up

Code:
    bash: /etc/passwd: Permission Denied
    does this mean i'm totally screwed? if it doesnt and eventually i can get in to change it like you say, how do i actually go about editing the file?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!