Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey all, I'm new to Linux (using Mandriva 10.1 Official), and to make a long story short, I'm having problems installing a program called KTechlab. First, it says on the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

libreadline.so.4 dependency problem

Hey all,

I'm new to Linux (using Mandriva 10.1 Official), and to make a long story short, I'm having problems installing a program called KTechlab. First, it says on the website that 'gpsim' is a dependency, so off I go to get gpsim; and for some reason, gpsim comes in a series of 4 packages:
    gpsim[version number].rpm
    gpsim-devel-[version].rpm
    gtk+extra2-[version].rpm
    gtk+extra2-devel[version].rpm

Using RPMDrake, the GTK+extra2-devel and non-devel, as well as gpsim-devel, installed OK. Then, gpsim itself choked, and RPMDrake gives me something to the effect of "Couldn't install gpsim (due to unsatisfied libreadline.so.4)". 'rpm' and 'urpmi' give similar errors. I also tried:
    whereis libreadline.so.4
    ->/lib/libreadline.so.4
    I read on the internet somewhere, that I needed both libreadline and libreadline-devel, but combing through the package list, I can't find anything relevant to readline or libreadline or any variations thereof; and then, after seeing the installation tutorial on this site, I tried:
    urpmi libreadline
    ->Everything already installed.
    urpmi readline
    ->Everything already installed.
    Can anyone tell me what's going on here?

Hmmm tricky one. Try searching for the library file just to make sure you don't already have it. Log in as root:

su
    yourpassword
    find / -name libreadline* -print

If the file is already there somewhere in - let's say - /usr/local/lib try moving it to /lib Sometimes it's as simple as that. Unfortunately, not very often.