Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I am running Mandriva Limited Edition 2005. I have it installed on a second hard drive and on the first is windows 2000 (the first drive is fat32). When I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    16

    Fat32 Newbie Question


    I am running Mandriva Limited Edition 2005. I have it installed on a second hard drive and on the first is windows 2000 (the first drive is fat32). When I am in Windows I can not access the linux drive and when I am in linux I can not access the windows drive. Is there anything I can do to access the windows drive in linux?

    Thanks,

    Matthew

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    104
    linux can read fat32 so just mount it some where. eg
    Code:
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows
    thats if it is hda1 and a directory called windows exists.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    16
    If i don't have a directory called windows, where would I have to create it, within the root?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Quote Originally Posted by mstanford01
    If i don't have a directory called windows, where would I have to create it, within the root?
    In /mnt, as suggested above... If you don't, it probably also means you have no entry for it in your fstab.

    Code:
    $ su
    # cd /mnt
    # mkdir windows
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Quote Originally Posted by borromini
    Quote Originally Posted by mstanford01
    If i don't have a directory called windows, where would I have to create it, within the root?
    In /mnt, as suggested above... If you don't have it, it probably also means you have no entry for it in your fstab.

    Code:
    $ su
    # cd /mnt
    # mkdir windows
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for your help. I am able to access the windows drive now through the root directory, but can not access otherwise due to permissions. I cannot change the permissions with a chmod either. Any suggestions,

    Thanks

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    16

    FSTAB HELP

    My windows harddrive is hda1 it is a fat32 drive. My userid is 500 and my group id is 500.

    In my fstab I have put
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows vfat defaults,gid=500,umask=0707 0 0

    afterwards I ran mount -a

    I got no errors but still can't access the drive from anything besides root! Please help,

    Matthew

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    352
    Try this:

    Code:
    /dev/hda1       /mnt/media        vfat        auto,users,rw,exec  1  0
    Hopefully it'll work...

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    16
    No Dice. I tried a Reboot and it does mount automatically, I can access it through root. It also added an icon on the desktop that is linked to it, but I cannot access it. I am sure it is something simple I am doing wrong,

    thanks,

    Matthew

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    352
    Hmm, maybe this might work for you:

    Code:
    /dev/hdb1 /mnt/windows vfat umask=0000,dmask=0000,uid=0002,gid=users,users  0 0

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •