Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm fairly new to Linux. I've installed it before, but always shared my disk with Windows, and at present, I've becomed very disillusioned with it. I installed Mandriva LE, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

XChat 2.4.3 Install Error

I'm fairly new to Linux. I've installed it before, but always shared my disk with Windows, and at present, I've becomed very disillusioned with it. I installed Mandriva LE, and am currently stocking up with whatever I need that didn't come packaged (according to the installs I've attempted since).

So here's my error:

Code:
    *** Could not run GLIB test program, checking why...
    *** The test program failed to compile or link. See the file config.log for the
    *** exact error that occured. This usually means GLIB is incorrectly installed.
    configure: error: "Cannot find glib
    This comes during the ./configure command.

I have since installed Glib 2.6.0, and that went wonderfully (the quickly scrolling lines of compiler verbalization filled we with love for it's inherent honesty). Any ideas? I've perused the documentation, and found nothing else but a request to have a higher version that 2.3. I'm thinking it's something wrong with how I installed Glib -- perhaps I didn't register it correctly with Linux. Are there some environmental variables I need to set?

Thanks for the help,
    Kit

Linux Engineer
    Did you run ldconfig after the install?
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

Just Joined!
    Are you speaking of ldconfig as far as XChat goes, or Glib? I couldn't find an executable file by that name in Glibs directory, and I haven't been able to overcome the ./configure command in the case of XChat.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!