Find the answer to your Linux question:
As a linux newbie I am particularly mystified with a problem I am having with my mouse under Mandrake 10.1 download edit. and KDE 3.2 where my mouse fails to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mouse settings forgotten after each boot

As a linux newbie I am particularly mystified with a problem I am having with my mouse under Mandrake 10.1 download edit. and KDE 3.2 where my mouse fails to work after each boot up of the system, until I change the settings using the mouse. A detailed description of my first linux journey lies below.

1. The mouse worked perfectly during the installation routine.
    2. I rebooted I found that the system would not respond to the mouse at all. Using the shortcut keys in KDE I managed to open up the system config and proceeded to set the mouse option to the ps2 ms explorer mouse, (I am using a Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse Explorer 2 plugged into a ps2 port via a USB adapter, but the signals coming from the mouse are the same as any other, I think.).
    3. Nothing happened, the mouse still didn't work.
    4. On the second attempt the mouse test screen appeared and the my mouse functioned properly.
    5. Upon rebooting the mouse failed to work again and it seems I have to go through this procedure upon every boot.
    6. I read somewhere that I had to scroll the mouse wheel to activate it, but this doesn't seem to work.

I am probably missing something really obvious here. Please will someone more experienced than I spare some time to bestow some wisdom upon this linux virgin

Just Joined!
    Ummmmmm I dont wana seem like text support but is it plugged in?
    Also I dono it might not be probing it correctly.
    Stick to the ps/2 mouses

Just Joined!