Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Im trying to set up this card in mandrake 10.1 official on my IBM T22 thinkpad. I've read several other posts regarding this and seem to have all the appropriate ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    58

    orinoco gold wireless connection issues


    Im trying to set up this card in mandrake 10.1 official on my IBM T22 thinkpad.
    I've read several other posts regarding this and seem to have all the appropriate
    drivers installed and running when I've checked with lsmod
    I've chosen this card because of it's alleged compatability with linux plus its having
    a connector for a external antenna. I've read about ndiswrapper, and seem to have it
    installed (I found it in /lib/modules/kernel or something similar) but I'm not sure how to use this. I have the windows drivers on a disk, but I DO NOT want to install windoze
    on this machine.
    my "configure network" asks for some parameters that I'm not sure about
    (such as RTS/CTS)
    I've also used iwconfig, which seems to be just like the configure network but
    without the gui, so trying similar settings has yeilded no better results and
    Im kind of stuck
    any suggestions?
    how do I use ndiswrapper?
    BTW, my card is model# PC24E-11-FC/R

    thanks again for the help you guys!
    C.Poff

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Could you post the output from ifconfig and iwconfig? The output from lspci and lsmod would be helpful as well.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    58

    outputs...

    ifconfig =
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:76:5DE:C5
    inet addr:192.168.0.4 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::204:76ff:fe5d:dec5/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:4000 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2899 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:6
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1380328 (1.3 Mb) TX bytes:438735 (428.4 Kb)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x1800

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:2D:AB:56:92
    inet6 addr: fe80::202:2dff:feab:5692/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:10 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:3 Base address:0x100

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:8632 (8.4 Kb) TX bytes:8632 (8.4 Kb)

    iwconfig =
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11-DS Nickname:"localhost"
    Mode:Ad-Hoc
    RTS thr:off
    Encryption key:off

    lspci =
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
    00:02.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1450 (rev 03)
    00:02.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1450 (rev 03)
    00:03.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c556B CardBus [Tornado] (rev 20)
    00:03.1 Communication controller: 3Com Corporation Mini PCI 56k Winmodem (rev 20)
    00:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: Cirrus Logic CS 4614/22/24 [CrystalClear SoundFusion Audio Accelerator] (rev 01)
    00:07.0 Bridge: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
    00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
    00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
    00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corp. 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 03)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. 86C270-294 Savage/IX-MV (rev 13)

    lsmod =
    Module Size Used by
    orinoco_cs 6760 1
    orinoco 38028 1 orinoco_cs
    hermes 7712 2 orinoco_cs,orinoco
    isofs 31352 1
    nfsd 189408 8
    exportfs 4736 1 nfsd
    lockd 58344 2 nfsd
    sunrpc 127652 2 nfsd,lockd
    md5 3584 1
    ipv6 230916 8
    rfcomm 32348 0
    l2cap 19876 5 rfcomm
    bluetooth 39076 4 rfcomm,l2cap
    snd-seq-midi 6624 0
    snd-seq-oss 31232 0
    snd-seq-midi-event 6080 2 snd-seq-midi,snd-seq-oss
    snd-seq 47440 5 snd-seq-midi,snd-seq-oss,snd-seq-midi-event
    snd-pcm-oss 49480 0
    snd-mixer-oss 17376 1 snd-pcm-oss
    snd-cs46xx 81896 1
    snd-rawmidi 19300 2 snd-seq-midi,snd-cs46xx
    snd-seq-device 6344 4 snd-seq-midi,snd-seq-oss,snd-seq,snd-rawmidi
    snd-ac97-codec 69392 1 snd-cs46xx
    snd-pcm 81800 2 snd-pcm-oss,snd-cs46xx
    snd-timer 20356 2 snd-seq,snd-pcm
    snd-page-alloc 7400 2 snd-cs46xx,snd-pcm
    gameport 3328 1 snd-cs46xx
    snd 45988 12 snd-seq-oss,snd-seq,snd-pcm-oss,snd-mixer-oss,snd-cs46xx,snd-rawmidi,snd-seq-device,snd-ac97-codec,snd-pcm,snd-timer
    soundcore 7008 1 snd
    af_packet 16072 2
    usbhid 41088 0
    floppy 55088 0
    ds 17572 5 orinoco_cs
    yenta_socket 18624 1
    pcmcia_core 59972 3 orinoco_cs,ds,yenta_socket
    3c59x 35240 0
    ide-cd 37280 1
    cdrom 37724 1 ide-cd
    loop 12520 0
    nls_iso8859-1 3680 2
    nls_cp850 4480 1
    vfat 11168 1
    fat 39776 1 vfat
    intel-agp 19584 1
    agpgart 27752 1 intel-agp
    evdev 7648 0
    pcspkr 3016 0
    uhci-hcd 28752 0
    usbcore 103172 4 usbhid,uhci-hcd
    ext3 120680 2
    jbd 49080 1 ext3

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    OK, it looks like your card has been found and the module for it has been loaded. You just need to enter your ssid, wep key (if applicable), and most likely also need to set the mode to managed. Most of the parameters in the wireless network config section are things you probably don't have to mess with.

    To enter your ssid, use (in a terminal as root)
    Code:
    iwconfig eth1 essid <your_ssid>
    To set the mode to managed, use
    Code:
    iwconfig eth1 mode managed
    To enter your wep key (if you use encryption), use
    Code:
    iwconfig eth1 key <your_encryption_key>
    After that, you can probably just restart your network daemon and be up and running.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    58
    this is very encouraging, but I'm going to have some issues getting the ssid as the
    ip to the hub was changed by someone who left no info.
    this can be sniffed right? but don't i need wireless to sniff it?
    yeesh. I'm gonna hack at this problem for a while....
    at least I'm getting paid for my time!
    thanks!
    cp

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    58
    I reset the router to default settings, making the ssid "default"
    and changed the mode to managed. here's the iwconfig =
    eth1 IEEE 802.11-DS ESSID:"default" Nickname:"localhost"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437GHz Access Point: 44:44:44:44:44:44
    Bit Rate:11Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm Sensitivity:1/3
    Retry limit:4 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Encryption key:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0/92 Signal level:134/153 Noise level:134/153
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    the network applet in the toolbar will not let me change to eth1
    it will say "applying settings" then I get a "failed" for eth1
    and never get a "connect on eth1" only "connect on eth0"

    any more advice?

    cp

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    If you run
    Code:
    ifup eth1
    in a terminal, do you get any output?
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    58
    ifup eth1 =
    Determining IP information for eth1... failed.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    You may need to specify a channel...try
    Code:
    iwconfig eth1 channel <working_channel>
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    58
    channel 6 is the default channel for my access point


    [root@localhost cp0ff]# iwconfig eth1 channel 6
    Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04) :
    SET failed on device eth1 ; Operation not supported.

    !?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •