Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
HI ! I'm running Mandriva 2005 and everytime i try to log in (as user) to get root via the shell konsole (su) i can't enter a password. I'ts just ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2

    Can't log in as root via shell ?


    HI !

    I'm running Mandriva 2005 and everytime i try to log in (as user) to get root via the shell konsole (su) i can't enter a password.

    I'ts just not possibel to enter any number or letter at ALL ?

    On the otherhand when booting up, and i choose to run as root (and enter the password in the login screen) all goes fine.

    for example to make an encrypted file (as user via shell) you have to type :

    gpg -c "file" and then enter the phasfrase, ok ? Well, i can't type ANY password here either ? just pressing "enter" is possibel but then it says (obvious) that it can't encrypt because no pasword is typed in. lol

    strange isn't it ?

    any idea's ?

    Thanks Waldo

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Re: Can't log in as root via shell ?

    Quote Originally Posted by waldo
    HI !

    I'm running Mandriva 2005 and everytime i try to log in (as user) to get root via the shell konsole (su) i can't enter a password.

    I'ts just not possibel to enter any number or letter at ALL ?
    Just to cover the obvious, most su prompts do not give you feedback on passwords you enter (meaning the cursor won't move and no ***** will show up), so are you sure you can't enter a password? Have you tried entering in your password and then hitting enter?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2
    OMG !!!!!!!

    It works !

    No, i never tried it before this way please don't call me stupid

    Thanks Bro !

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by waldo
    OMG !!!!!!!

    It works !

    No, i never tried it before this way please don't call me stupid

    Thanks Bro !
    No problem.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •