Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I've just downloaded mandriva's free version of le 2005 to try linux, after using windows for many years, so complete noob. The problem I have is when using the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Shutdown Mandrake 2005 and loose network connection??

Hi

I've just downloaded mandriva's free version of le 2005 to try linux, after using windows for many years, so complete noob.

The problem I have is when using the halt, shutdown or crtl,atl,del commands to shut down, I loose connection to my wired network. It's as if it turns off the ethernet connector (marvell 88E8001) on the motherboard (Asus AV.

The only way to regain connection is to reboot back into linux. If I boot into windows, the network adaptor stays off, so no internet connection.

I can the connection light on my router going off and coming back on as I shutdown and reboot linux.

Is there something I'm doing wrong, or is there something to configure.

Thanks for your help
    travd

Just Joined!
    I'm not really sure what is happening here, but I have some ideas that I think are worth trying. I'd probably just try one at a time, and switch back if a change doesn't fix the issue. Of course, if one of the items fixes the issue, I would stop there.

1) Change the ACPI/Power Mgmt settings in Bios for the nic card. If they are on, turn them off, or vice versa.
    2) Check/uncheck the "Enable ACPI" box under Boot/Set Up How the System Boots in Mandrake Control Center ("Configure Your Computer").
    3) Same place as item 2 above, but try a different boot loader (if Lilo, try Grub).

I hope this helps. Post back what you find.

Just Joined!
    Hi

Thanks for reply. I tried using grub as bootloader, enabling acpi and forcing no acpi. Didn't solve the problem though

I couldn't find an option for the nic card in the bios power managment settings.