Find the answer to your Linux question:
I run Mandrake 10 on my desktop, and I'm fairly new to linux. I navigate by feel so I can only give you a vague description of what I did ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Monitor problems

I run Mandrake 10 on my desktop, and I'm fairly new to linux. I navigate by feel so I can only give you a vague description of what I did to my computer :S

I bought a used monitor and the colour was screwed up. So I looked and the system still had my old monitor listed in the Hardware list. I went to change the monitor settings and saw that my "new" monitor was in the list, so I changed the settings by clicking on the name in the list.

However, now when I boot I get wavey lines accross my monitor so i can't see anything, and therefore can't get in to change the settings back. Is there a way to undo this? Everything shows up fine on the monitor until it hits the login screen then I can't see anything.

Thanks
    G

Linux Guru
    You get the login screen right after X windows is started, that is, when you go from text-mode to graphics-mode. To do anything, you will need to work in text mode, either to repair your configuration by un-changing what you changed, or else by running the automatic configuration program, which may or may not improve things.

Hopefully, you can get a text screen if, when the screen goes wavy, you press ctrl-alt-F4. I'm not sure what text editor you have available, but hopefully you will have nano or pico or joe. I'm sure you have vi, but the others are more intuitive. In any case, the file to edit is (i'm pretty sure) /etc/X11/xorg.conf. While you are editing, I'd also suggest you make a change to normally boot to text mode at least until your graphics is working 100%. Do that by editing /etc/inittab. You will look for one of the first lines that does not start with a '#' and which looks something like:
    Code:
    id:5:initdefault: