Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay. I am extremely new to Linux. And by that I mean like twelve hours new. I am having some problems configuring a whole bunch of stuff. First and foremost ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, North America, Earth

Help with installing ATI drivers

Okay. I am extremely new to Linux. And by that I mean like twelve hours new. I am having some problems configuring a whole bunch of stuff.

First and foremost is my videocard. Upon first configuring the system, I was given a choice to select my monitor and screen resolution. Each time I tested it it came back all messed up until I hit the combo of ¨Generic monitor @ 1600x1200 and a screen resolution of 640x480. Itś the only combo that I tested and worked.
    I have tried downloading the ATI proprietary driver for my card (ATI Mobility Radeon 9800) but everytime I load it up it says this and nothing more :

[mark@localhost Desktop]$ ./ati-driver-installer-8.14.13.run
    Creating directory fglrx-install
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing ATI Proprietary Linux Driver-8.14.13........................................... .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .............
    ==================================================
    ATI Technologies Linux Driver Installer/Packager
    ==================================================
    Detected configuration:
    Architecture: i686 (32-bit)
    X Server:
    Removing temporary directory: fglrx-install

I don´t know what I am doing right or what I am doing wrong. If anyone out there more experienced might be able to lend a helping hand, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Dell XPS w/ 3.4G HT