Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello. I have just installed Mandrake 10.2 and I am trying to get wireless working on it. I have a Netgear WG311 v2 with the TI ACX111 chipset. I am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help setting up wireless

Hello. I have just installed Mandrake 10.2 and I am trying to get wireless working on it. I have a Netgear WG311 v2 with the TI ACX111 chipset. I am new to linux and the CLI has been the toughest part. So, I have tried to get this baby up and running solely through the GUI.
    I have installed the card and then gone into the Mandrake Control Center where I added a new interface through the setup menus. Everything has appeared to work fine. Ndis wrapper was installed and then I located my driver from the install CD that came with the card.
    But, after that I have no idea how to get the connection started. I have been reading alot on different forums to see what I should do next. I think that I almost have it. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

$/sbin/iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions

eth0 no wireless extensions

sit0 no wireless extensions

wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:off/any nickname:"localhost"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 Ghz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power:10dBm Sensitivity:0/s
    Rts thr=2347 B Fragment thr=2312 B Power Management=off
    Link Quality:100 Signal Level:0 Noise Level:0
    Rx Invalid Nwid:0 Rx Invalid Crypt:0

Ok, does Kwifimanager see any networks? I don't know what mandrake uses to setup wireless networks, but you will have to set at the very least the ssid of the network (mine at home is SMC for instance). I don't use encription, if you do you will also have to enter the WEP key (I'm not too familiar with the various encription methods, I only have the MAC address filtering turned on).

After this, you might have to run 'dhclient'.

Hope this helps.