Find the answer to your Linux question:
Operating system not found this is my first build- been using windows since i was five so u can guess my age (windows 95 first experience) well i decided to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Operating system not found

this is my first build- been using windows since i was five so u can guess my age (windows 95 first experience) well i decided to try linux looks and sounds like a cool learning experience and well im having problems both of my 3.2 gig hard drives western digital are blank & formated but when i insert the cd roms of mandrake 10.1 official nothing happens even without the cd that message appears but the cd works opens on other comp. so i decided to take one hard drive out put it in another comp and install that way then put it back well it installed but when i put the hard drive back sme message operating system not found are the drives corrupt? couldnt find any one with the same problem also when put the drive in comp number 2 which intalled it with it boots linux but comes up with this kernal error ANY IDEAS NEED HELP VERY DEPRESSED.......THNX

It sounds like that PC isn't set to boot from CD, and is jumping straight to the blank hard disc. Enter the BIOS by pressing F2,F10 or DEL depending on your system. Make sure cdrom is higher on the bootlist than your harddisc.

Just Joined!

os not found

have changed the boot order to cdrom first then floppy then hard drive but nothing happens. and now a new problem i insert the cd with my other blank hdd installed and it freezes up at the system load screen where it asks u if u want to enter bios press does this help?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    If you have access to another PC, try the CD to see if you have a bad burn. You can also check the MD5 checksums to make sure the CD-ROM is OK.
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!