Find the answer to your Linux question:
okay, im still really new to linux, so forgive my ignorance, ive been using windows for the past 10 years or so. but my question is, i have a Geforce ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual monitor setup?

okay, im still really new to linux, so forgive my ignorance, ive been using windows for the past 10 years or so.
    but my question is, i have a Geforce video card and im wondering how i can get my dual monitor setup running, (note: a monitor and my tv) the monitor needs to run at 1280x1024 and the tv needs to run at 1024x768, is this going to be possible? i know the output is working because i can turn on my tv and get a cloned image, but its in my montiors resolution so its scrambled since the tv cant get that high.
    do i need to download the nvidia drivers? my graphics card was automaticaly detected, model number and all. is there any software i can get?
    thanks

yeh, u can do all this. i have a simple guide on my blog which would be the easiest thing to follow.

Also, in order to set the resolution for the TV, u need modelines set.

in the "Device" section add a line like this:

Code:
    Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1024x768; 1024x768,1024x768; 800x600,800x600; 640x480,640x480"
    the first resolution is basically what u see on the monitor, and the second resolution on the TV.

Hope this helps, if not, let me know, and i'll try and post a sample conf file for you.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

Just Joined!
    well, that helped somewhat. however after editing the xorg.conf file, my system doesnt seem to shut down. the monitor goes blank and then into its sleep mode and im guessing the computer just hangs.
    but the dual setup is working, i decided to do a cloned image, however the tvchip doent resize the image before sending it to my tv.
    any ideas?