Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I am new to Linux and am very keen to try out a new OS to run with Apache, PHP & MySQL. I have somehow managed to configure ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Having problem installing Mandrivia LE 2005, Please help !!

Hi all,

I am new to Linux and am very keen to try out a new OS to run with Apache, PHP & MySQL. I have somehow managed to configure AMP to work with Window XP and everything seem to work OK so far . But somehow I feel that Linux seem to be a more naturally choice with AMP, may be because they are all open sources !!?

My current set up:
    HDD: 1x80 gb SATA,C:, 1x200 gb SATA,E: (Both drives have been formatted with NTFS unfortunately.)

My intension is to install Mandrivia on drive E: and leave window XP and all its application in C:.

My problem : After inserted the DVD and restart the computer , everything is OK and the install splash screen come up, I tried every options to install but everytime during the installation all i get is a blank screen and could not proceed any further. Also tried everything using the boot> prompt with text with no suscess

Any comment/help is much appreciated.

The otherthing is: if I manage to install mandrivia on E:, Is it possible to for both window and Linux applications to store data in E: assuming that that it has been parttion correctly. Sorry to ask question like this as I am not only new to Linux but also have little understanding on how thing work with hard drives(ware) in general.

Thanks.

Before you install on to that 2nd hard drive, make 2 partitions. one Fat32, this can be accessed by both windows and Linux. And leave one partition unformatted. This is where mandriva will go.

To do this you will need to use Disk management in XP.
    Control Panel>Administrative Tools> Computer management>Disk management.
    Delete the partitions, then create the 2 partitions.