Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to Mandrake 10.1(official) but have a working knowledge of Kubuntu. My D-Link 650+ card works great in Kubuntu. I am trying to get my wireless card working ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless ACX100 (D-Link 650+)

I am new to Mandrake 10.1(official) but have a working knowledge of Kubuntu. My D-Link 650+ card works great in Kubuntu.
    I am trying to get my wireless card working in Mandrake and need some help.
    /sbin/iwconfig detects nothing (no extensions), the GUI 'add connection' also did not detect my card even though I chose the ACX100 driver.
    In Kubuntu my settings are:

mapping hotplug
    script grep
    map wlan0

#primary network interface

auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wireless_essid D-Link
    wireless_channel 6
    wireless_mode managed

What is the equal (config file) in Mandrake? Where do I start?
    thanks in advance.

Have you tried following the instructions found here?

I also had some trouble getting my ACX111 card working under MDK 10.1 and native drivers, the way I solved this problem was to use ndiswrapper.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!

build environment questions

I got stuck at this point.
    ls /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build/include/linux/version.h

I am using Mandrake 10.1 (official)

seems I have no build directory?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    ok, does /lib/modules directory contain a folder called 2.6.8.xx or something similar? if it doesn't you will need to install the kernel sources. To do this, go to the MCC, select software and then add software. In the list which comes up, tell it to search for "kernel-sources", install this. If it cannot be found in that list, you will have to download it via either urpmi or through the online update tool.