Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I recieved a hybrid Mandrake (this was before it was renamed Mandriva)/ Windows ME machine as a gift. It worked perfectly until I tried to add a second hard ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Second Hard Drive Addition

Hello,

I recieved a hybrid Mandrake (this was before it was renamed Mandriva)/ Windows ME machine as a gift. It worked perfectly until I tried to add a second hard drive (OS: Windows '95 ) to it.
    Now the Windows portion of the hard drive works perfectly, but the Mandrake part boots up in some sort of fail-safe mode.
    When I tell the computer to boot up in Linux mode, it shows something that looks like a Konsole. Removing the second hard drive does not solve the problem.
    I've checked several books, and none of them say anything about a fail-safe mode. Can anyone please give me advice? I'm a complete Linux newbie, but I will try to give you any information you need.
    Thank you!

Linux Newbie
    The most easyest way ( i think) to solve this problem is make a upgrade.

You can do this :
    Code:
    1. Insert the Mandrake 1 cd
    2. Select Upgrade
    3. And follw it's instruction
    By this upgrade you will not lose your data and also your setting.

S. M. Ibrahim
    Registered Linux User # 394440

Pentium-IV 3.00 Ghz(Cache -2MB, 64 bit), 512 MB RAM , 128 MB agp, 160 GB Hdd (SATA)

Linux Guru
    By "fail safe", I think you mean it is booting into a minimal mode for the purpose of allowing you to repair your system so you can boot properly. While upgrading the system will make the problem go away, depending on your situation, you may want to try to fix the problem. Unlike another popular OS, Linux usually gives information and means for repairing problems for those who wish to do that.